sexta-feira, 23 de janeiro de 2015

EdP070 - The Golden Bough + EdP071 - From Ritual to Romance (double compilation)

Et Quid Amabo Nisi Quod Aenigma Est?

Die Elektrischen Vorspiele, a blog founded on January 15 2009, and whose sixth anniversary is commemorated with this release, was envisioned as a space for the nurturing of a “savage thought” (that is, of an undisciplined nature). In its essence, and as an individual project, it aims mostly to be a vehicle for its author’s vast-reaching interests, while at the same time harnessing them into some form of discipline. More than just a reflection on the fascination caused by the themes implicit to its lexical field of action, as shown by the coordinates and key concepts that define the boundaries of its territory, i.e. “Occultism” / “Esotericism”, this virtual space mainly maps some of the topologies enclosed in the History of Ideas. A vast and sometimes ignored area of Knowledge, whose apparently paradoxical character drives a magnetic pull towards the need to identify its true nature, as ubiquitously manifested along various historical cycles, in an unending drama staged in the theatre of the Anima Mundi. This is, in fact, the true raison d’être of Die Elektrischen Vorspiele.
As a direct result of its existence, November 2010 saw the publication of the book “Summa Techno(i)logicae”. This work, as implied by its title, is a thoroughly compiled and systematised patchwork reflecting the interests that guide its author’s research. From then on, periodic collaborations with other projects ensued, such as the magazines Finis Mundi, Infernus and Antibothis.
Still under the aegis of Die Elektrischen Vorspiele, and always through the establishment of complicities and connections, a number of events were created and carried out in the past six years. This set of actions (with Music as a constant common denominator) has had as its main goal the evocation of the life and work of various figures that have left behind crucial legacies. The people celebrated include the musician John Balance (Coil); the historian of religions Mircea Eliade; the poet and theatre director Antonin Artaud; the philosopher Georges Bataille; and the Japanese writer Yukio Mishima. It is also worth mentioning the series of events spanning along the year 2013, Occult Esoterica AV Gatherings, curated in collaboration with intermedia artist Ana Carvalho.
The proposal made to EdP – Editora do Porto (in the person of its administrator, João Ricardo) for the release of this compilation emerges as a consequence of shared common cosmologies which have gradually been transmuted into friendship, and also of João Ricardo’s encyclopaedic musical knowledge, while the invitations made to the artists taking part in it are the logical result of a chaining together of elective affinities (a process permanently taking place since the first Homeric dawn).

Júlio Mendes Rodrigo
Porto, December 23, anno 2014, era vulgaris

Concept: Die Elektrischen Vorspiele & EdP – Editora do Porto
Graphic Design: David Matos (Shutupandance)
Liner notes translation: Filipe Silva

EdP070 - The Golden Bough

Albrecht Loops – Tarso

Augen – Lull Media

Cotton Ferox – Temporarily Shamanic

ocp – operador de cabine polivalente – Pluma

Stealing Orchestra – Böcklin's Isle Of The Dead

Iurta – Neurostasis

f a n t a s m a – Cometa 67P/CG

Two White Monsters Around A Round Table – The CaveV1


EdP071 - From Ritual to Romance

Angélica V. Salvi – Atalayas

João Pais Filipe – The Wheel

Kanukanakina –Obsoleto Modo


Nova Orquestra Futurista do Porto – Tex.Vid.Par.2

HystericalOneManOrchestra – Eight Thirds Or Approximately Two Six Six Six

Evil Schmidt – Hate Is Our Top Priority

Terra Oca – La Lune

Sturqen – Hirito

Thee UM Rev Al L Aguero – William S. Burroughs Invocation

Walt Thisney – Nightcrawler

Marc Hurtado – Unis

Val Denham (with Farmacia) – Apollo

Harpoemacto – Lava


GRATIA (by alphabetical order):
Alberto Lopes, Alrucini, Ana Carvalho, André Coelho, Angélica V. Salvi, Caos, Carl Abrahamsson, Carla Filipe, César Rodrigues, David Arantes, David Matos, Fernando Cerqueira, Filipe Silva, Gabi von Dub,
Henrique Fernandes, J. A., Jean-Baptiste Bayle, João Guimarães,
João Mascarenhas, João Pais Filipe, João Ricardo, Jonathan Uliel Saldanha, José Pedro Carvalho, Manuel dos Reis, Marc Hurtado, Miguel Pipa,
Nuno Marques Pinto, Pedro Centeno, Pedro Salvado Santos, Rafael Cortés, Sigil, Thee UM Rev Al L Aguero, Thomas Tibert, Val Denham.

Sem comentários: